My father was a praying man

My father was a praying man
Something he did best
And sometimes when he prayed
I leaned upon his chest

His words sincere and careful
His heart was clean and pure
I sensed his deep commitment
In his God he was so sure

His prayers included family
They included all the lost
His prayer included action
From that he knew the cost

No weakness in his prayer
No doubt in God above
He knew his Heavenly Father
And His overwhelming love

He always prayed with passion
For those he held so dear
For me he prayed so faithful
And I know that’s why I’m here

God’s calling you to prayer
To action more and more
Now be that new example
Like men who’ve gone before

©January 14, 2016

Leave a Reply

