Stuck in the Candy Store

I have so much,
Yet I want more
My life is just
A candy store

Another taste
Another sweet
Please give me more
I have to eat

Another dime
And maybe more
I’ll spend it all
Here at my store

I must now have
All I desire
To rid myself
Of inner fire

The more I have
The more I want
I eat so much
But feel so gaunt

These men they look
Both high and low
But never leave
The store they know

Real food, they seek
But never find
Forever in
Their store confined

©April 30, 2016

Leave a Reply

