The cross of Calvary

My Savior took a walk for me
The painful walk to Calvary
The cross he bore was meant for me
He bled and died upon that tree

Oh wretched cross of sin and shame!
The man held there should have my name!
How can the One who knew no sin
Die for mine, yet somehow win?

Deep in the shadow of that cross
I see my gain and not my loss
He paid for all my sin and shame
Not with mine, but His Great Name

The darkest day this earth has known
Was when He died for man alone
But then He rose up from the grave
Finished was His plan to save!

And now the cross of Calvary
Is joy for man and joy for me
For as he breathed His last in death
He breathed in me eternal breath

©January 7, 2017

Leave a Reply

